Versioning is an advanced file backup feature in ENC DataVault. Enabling versioning for a Secure Folder will retain a pre-defined number of versions of each file in that folder when it is edited or updated.
You can activate Versioning for a specific secure folder on your flash drive, another external storage device, or your computer. Files in any backed-up secure folder are then available for versioning.
in order to set up File Versioning, you will first need to activate the backup function in EACH secure folder for which you want to retain prior versions.
How do Backup and Restore Functions work in DataVault 7?
After Versioning is enabled, any file that is updated to a secure folder will have the previous versions stored in a subfolder on your device. Currently, you can choose to keep up to five previous versions of files, which are stored in separate subfolders.
As an example, if you choose to retain 3 versions of files, when you update a file 4 times, your latest update is stored in the Secure Folder and the three (3) most recent previous versions will be retained in a backup folder.
If you want to roll back to a previous version of a file, follow the below steps:
- Highlight the file in the secure folder;
- Right-click with your mouse and choose previous versions;
- Select a subfolder and click on the versioning button.
Deleting previous versions of a file
Currently, after Versioning has been enabled it cannot be disabled. However, you can delete the older file versions from storage on a drive. For example, if you delete subfolder 5 from the.TRASHBIN folder, the oldest version of files will be removed from storage.