Versioning is an advanced backup feature in ENC DataVault. Enabling versioning for a Vault will retain a pre-defined number of versions of each file when it is edited or updated.
You can activate Versioning after you make the first backup of files in a vault on your flash drive or another external storage device, or your computer. Files in any backed-up Vault are then available for versioning. After Versioning is enabled, any file that is updated to a vault will have the previous versions stored in a subfolder. Currently, you can define up to five previous versions of files in a vault, which are stored in separate subfolders.
As an example, if you choose to retain 3 versions of files in a vault folder, when you update a file 4 times, your latest update is stored in the vault folder and the three (3) most recent previous versions will be retained in a backup folder.
If you want to roll back to a previous version of a file, follow the below steps:
- Highlight the file in the vault folder;
- Right-click with your mouse and choose previous versions;
- Select a vault and click on the versioning button.
Deleting previous versions of a file
At present, once Versioning has been enabled it cannot be disabled. However, you can remove the older file versions from storage on a drive. For example, if you delete subfolder 5 from the .TRASHBIN folder, the oldest version of files will be removed from storage.